What is it?
Edit associations permission has been updated to control who can add, remove, and edit associations and association labels, and it now works the same way in the association table and the object associations card. To change associations when working in a record, the user will also need Edit access for records.
Why does it matter?
Previously, some users experienced inconsistent permission requirements when managing associations in different parts of the CRM, which lead to unintentional changes and confusion. Consistent permissions mean only the right people can change your associations, so you have clearer control over your data.
How does it work?
To do any of the following, a user needs the Edit associations permission:
- - Add an association or label
- - Remove an association or label
- - Edit an association label or label
- - Set a primary association or label
Users without Edit associations can still add associations when they manually create a record using the create form (e.g., when creating contacts). They can also still view associations but can’t change them.
Admin steps
- Admins should review and grant the Edit associations permission to appropriate users in Settings > Users & Teams > Edit Permissions > CRM Tools
- Review which users and teams have the Edit associations permission.
- Apply the setting to anyone who needs to keep adding, removing, or editing associations or association labels.
Who gets it?
All hubs and tiers